An Aurora Rhapsody Short Story


Its leaders believe the Alliance is powerful enough to be both—a democracy on election days and a dictatorship on every other day—but they’re wrong. No government should be so powerful.

It’s time someone demonstrates the error in their thinking.

The Earth Alliance rules 82 worlds, controlling an empire that spans a third of the Milky Way. But when its leaders stray too far from the democratic principles on which it was founded, one colony—one group of daring rebels—will risk everything in order to reclaim their freedom.

Set a quarter century before STARSHINE: Aurora Rising Book One (Aurora Rhapsody #1), APOGEE tells the story of the fateful decisions and critical opening moves of the First Crux War between the Earth Alliance and the Senecan Federation, the repercussions of which will ripple forward across decades and shape the world of Aurora Rhapsody forever.

When faced with its greatest challenge, will humanity rise to triumph
or fall to ruin?

Aurora Rhapsody is an epic tale of galaxy-spanning adventure, of the thrill of discovery and the unquenchable desire to reach ever farther into the unknown. It's a tale of humanity at its best and worst, of love and loss, of fear and heroism. It's the story of a woman who sought the stars and found more than anyone imagined possible.


Apogee was originally published in The Galaxy Chronicles, edited by Jeff Seymour, part of The Future Chronicles, series editor Samuel Peralta.

Starshine 1.jpg

(Get Vertigo: Aurora Rising Book Two For Free):


Share Apogee with Your Friends